Can I make parent page menu item unclickable?

Hello,

I am new to Kirby and this is my first message to the forum. I am trying to convert my existing website to Kirby on my local computer to see if it is right for me. So far everything has worked out nicely except for this:

1. I have created a visible parent page called “Courses” which shows up in my main navigation menu.
  2. The parent page has 8 visible child pages which pop up in the sub menu when I hover over the main “Courses” menu item.

Is there an easy way to have the “Courses” link not link to any page content at all? Essentially, I would just like to be able to hover over the “Courses” link and only be able to click on one of the 8 sublinks. Is that possible?

As a workaround I have followed the “Simple redirect” instructions and have made the “Courses” menu item redirect to the first child link. Is that the best I can do in this situation?

Kurt

1 Like

Welcome to the Kirby forum! :tada:

That’s something you need to to additionally, as someone could easily manually enter the URL of the parent page.

But making the link in the menu not clickable in the first place is quite straight-forward:

• Set a field in the parent page that determines that the page should not be accessed directly (like Nonclickable: true)
  • Check in your menu snippet if that field is set. If so, don’t output a link but a simple text node:
<?php foreach($pages->visible() as $p): ?>
    <li>
      <?php if($p->nonclickable() === 'true'): ?>
        <?php e($p->isOpen(), '<strong>') ?><?php echo $p->title()->html() ?><?php e($p->isOpen(), '</strong>') ?>
      <?php else: ?>
        <a <?php e($p->isOpen(), ' class="active"') ?> href="<?php echo $p->url() ?>"><?php echo $p->title()->html() ?></a>
      <?php endif ?>
1 Like