Blog template for scenario where only some articles are translated

Hi there! I am a bit lost.
What I like to achieve is sth I read a few times here but can’t find a concrete answer:

I have a multilingual page setup (en default, de). But only the blog section should behave differently. We will post some articles only in English, some only in German, and some will be translated.
So /blog should only list English posts, /de/blog should only list German posts.

I found @texnixe ’s solution for this, but it seems outdated. I downloaded the latest starter kit. Since I am a php newbie, I would love to hear suggestions from you. Thanks in advance. – Martin

I guess the magic happens here:

Controller:

<?php
return function($site, $pages, $page) {

$perpage  = $page->perpage()->int();
  $articles = $page->children()
               ->visible()
               ->flip()
               ->paginate(($perpage >= 1)? $perpage : 5);

return [
'articles'   => $articles,
'pagination' => $articles->pagination()
  ];
};

blog template:

<header class="wrap">
  <?php
  if($pagination->page() == 1):
  ?>
  <?php endif ?>
  <hr />
</header>

<section class="wrap">
  <?php if($articles->count()): ?>
    <?php foreach($articles as $article): ?>

<article class="article index">

<header class="article-header">
          <h2 class="article-title">
            <a href="<?= $article->url() ?>"><?= $article->title()->html() ?></a>
          </h2>

<p class="article-date"><?= $article->date('F jS, Y') ?></p>
        </header>

<?php snippet('coverimage', $article) ?>

<div class="text">
          <p>
            <?= $article->text()->kirbytext()->excerpt(50, 'words') ?>
            <a href="<?= $article->url() ?>" class="article-more">read more</a>
          </p>
        </div>

</article>

<hr />

<?php endforeach ?>
  <?php else: ?>
    <p>This blog does not contain any articles yet.</p>
  <?php endif ?>
</section>

<?php snippet('pagination') ?> 

You can filter your page collection like this: