Archiv for Blog

Hi,
how can I make an archiv page(s) for my blog?

What I’ve done so far is

• blueprint copy from „blog“ named „archiv“
  • template copy from „blog“ named „archiv“
  • folder in content named „archiv“ with „archive.txt“

In the panel, I get a new page called „Archiv“ where it lets me add page and files, but anyhow.

If I „click view“ page I get an error.

I am stuck, no idea what do do next.

PS: Should I mention, that I am a total newbie?

First of all, I need to know what sort of error you get? Secondly, I don’t have a crystal ball that lets me read your code from where I am :wink:, so I have no idea what could be going wrong…

Also, what are your plans with the archive page? Do you want to move pages there from the blog once they are outdated? (You can’t move pages in the Panel).

Ok, take this one for now ;):

The error says "This page is currently offline due to an unexpected error. "

Yes, I want to move post there, once the blog page has more than lets say 5-10 posts on it.

I really have no idea where to start.

Thanks, but it doesn’t work, I still can’t see anything.

Anyway, first of all, turn on debugging in your config.php.

c::set('debug', true);

Once you’ve done that, there should be a more telling error message. If you still can’t find your error, then maybe you want to make up your mind and post your code.

How do you write your blog posts? In the Panel?

The problem with moving stuff around is that the URL for your articles will change if you move them into another folder. So maybe this is not such a great idea? Why do you want to move post anyway? 5 to 10 posts in a folder is not really a lot. If you don’t want to show old posts, you might as well filter them out instead of moving them around.

And one more thing: make sure that your text file, the blueprint and the template have the same name, either archiv or archive, otherwise Kirby will fall back to the default template.

Coool!