Side menu disappears

Hi,

I am trying to figure out what I might be doing wrong. I have a side menu with children pages as links. When I click on a child link the side menu disappears from the page but the contents displayed on the page.

This is the side menu.

<?php foreach ($page->children() as $sidemenu): ?>
                <a href="<?= $sidemenu->url()?>">
                     <?= $sidemenu->title() ?>
                </a>
      <?php endforeach ?>

If you are on a child page, there are no children anymore, do nothing will be displayed. When calling the snippet, you have to pass the correct collection of pages as parameter.

$page always refers to the current page.

Is that your complete menu, no nav tag around it?

I have tags around it (un-order list).

I am still learning Kirby, so I should use pages? I am not fully understanding, it’s not you you are very knowledgeable with using Kirby. I tried using pages it showed all the pages, but when I click on a link the side menu did not disappears, getting close.

<?php foreach ($pages->children() as $sidemenu): ?>
      <a href="<?= $sidemenu->url()?>">
           <?= $sidemenu->title() ?> 
      </a> 
<?php endforeach ?>

I wish I could be really good at Kirby hopefully one day there will be some training here in the US.

Don’t worry, we are here to help.

The $pages variable will output all main pages, that’s not what you want:

1. Put your menu in a snippet, e.g. sidemenu.php
<?php if($menuItems->count()): `>
<nav>
    <ul>
        <?php foreach ($menuItems as $menuItem): ?>
            <li> 
               <a href="<?= $menuItem->url()?>">
                   <?= $menuItem->title() ?> 
               </a> 
            </li>
        <?php endforeach ?>
    </ul>
</nav>
<?php endif ?>

Then in your main page, call this snippet like this:

<?php snippet('sidemenu', ['menuItems' => $page->children()]) ?>

In the template for the children pages, like this: