How to configure a route in my application to serve a file to be puclic?

Hi everyone! I’m new to Kirby and I am not really familiar with backend development. I’ve created a small portfolio website to practice Kirby and I really like it. I use Heroku for hosting and I’m trying to add an ssl certificate through “let’s encrypt”.

During the process I was asked to add a folder “.well-known” and make it available in the server. How can I do that? no matter where I locate this folder I can’t reach it, I get a message that access is forbidden :frowning:

I saw there is a plugin that helps with these kind of files but I can’t understand how I set it right.

I would appreciate any help
Thanks in advance

A folder called .well-known should actually be accessible if you are using the default .htaccess file provided by the Kirby Starterkit which contains these lines:

# block files and folders beginning with a dot, such as .git
# except for the .well-known folder, which is used for Let's Encrypt and security.txt
RewriteRule (^|/)\.(?!well-known\/) index.php [L]

Thank you so much for the reply :slight_smile:

I can see that now in the .htaccess file - it is set as you mentioned.

but I’m not sure I understand what I should do now. I tried to create a folder ‘.well-known’ and place it in the ‘site’ folder but I couldn’t reach it in the server. it says I dont have permission.

Any idea?
(A reminder: I’m a total beginner in backend / php environment)

Thank you!

This folder should be in your project’s root folder, i.e. next to the /kirby, /site etc. folders, not inside the /site folder, because the /site folder is not accessble.

Thanks again for the reply
It’s still not working.

This is the instructions from Let’s Encrypt:

Create a file containing just this data:

UmBLOpO0XQ_S6ezfktzO-AGxmr_x2eRNeoESKTceTlE.gbl–gSfk-zYO9k7H-zmcYTJZkM0dDkYYTKVR-2wnIs

And make it available on your web server at this URL: