About coding good practices and Kirby bootstraps

Hi everyone,

I wanna talk about your “front-coding” habits and advice about good practices.
Especially in a context where I believe it’s important today to be able to work with multiple people on a common code, design it so you will reuse it or sections of it and share it so others can learn or used it.

So, I want to start discussions with those subjects:

1. What do you think of BEM (Block Element Modifier) and SMACSS (Scalable and Modular Architecture for CSS) practices?

2. In a scalable and modular architecture, where do you fix the limit between useful and reusable?

3. In the context of Kirby, is it more pertinent to multiply small plugins with their own CSS or keep things separated using the existent assets/ and snippets/? That is where I think about Kirby bootstraps solutions, like how can we design them intelligently?

I ask as a graphic designer how learn to code by himself. I’m not an engineer. That is why I would love to have your opinions and advice :slight_smile:

This subject has already been discussed on the forum, but it could be interesting to list them in a common topic or share any external resources you find relevant.

For me, these considerations have started watching this presentation about BEM and SMACSS and developing this Kirby bootstrap.

Thank you for reading!

1 Like

Disclaimer / about me: I’m a full time front-end developer at a digital agency in The Netherlands. I’m coding (with co-workers, front-end developers and back-end developers) about 30 - 40 sites a year, with a different range of audiences. Some have 1000 visitors a day, while other projects have around 1,850.000 visitors a day.